Tonight, everything will change

Two years
is too long
to ward sadness
to a corner.
A sword
of anger
a shield
of resilience
they break
not quickly
yet
they
break.
Tonight I bid
a fare-thee-well
to the red mistress; the saint of fire,
and succumb
to sorrow. Dear sorrow. Sweet sorrow.
You have waited too long.
Come in, patient goddess.
Stay. Teach me a different song, a blue song, a soft song
a song without a cadence
but a flow.
Not a parade, but a dance
the last dance
in an empty hall;
I remember you.
How can I forget you were there
on a Saturday, when the sun shone through
wispy
curtains.
You were there
in a bus stop
watching her eyes grow smaller
and smaller
until
they
stopped looking
altogether.
You were there
on the carpeted floor
a day past Christmas
as everything
lost hue, which I did not know was possible.
I drove you out.
But I remember you.
We move well together.
And you dress
ever
so
impeccably.

Leave a Reply

